pins and needles

ok… I have to admit… I have been on pins and needles and a little freaked out about all of the talk of crediting and placing ownership on techniques in the PC world!  It really has just zapped the creative juices right out of me this week….  I am so scared of doing something similar to someone and trying to figure out where my inspiration really does come from!

Shoot yesterday alone I had an email from someone and then antoher person state to me that they wanted to credit me for their inspiration in creating beads!!!  What is going on?!?!  LOL!! 

I am fairly new to PC…. I was introduced to it about 3 years ago.  I have never taken a class, and I hate to read tutes, but I do get Polymer Cafe~  Most of what I do is inspired by nature… other PC artist… and lamp work artist… shoot, I even like looking at the scrap book pages for inspiration….  I see something and say “hey, I like that… let me see what I can come up with and lets see how it turns out”…. 

I guess to me PC is just like any other art medium.  You pick it up and you create what comes to you.    I never said, this is a drawling that I created, but I used this shading process that Mr. Custard, my art teach taught me in high school, and this pencil stroke was one that Mrs.Baldwin taught me in elementary.

PC is so new!  I create things that in my heart I just know it’s mine and only my idea, only to see it done by someone else…..  It’s going to happen time and time again….   I guess it’s like saying that you are the one that created that certain pencil stoke…. That one shading technique…   It’s enough to make a person go mad….. and loose a lot of creative energy, which I have this week… stressing!!

But after the emails I got it really did just HIT me!!   Why in the world would I want to take the credit for something that was strictly created by them?  There is not one ounce of “Tina T.” in those beads!  Nothing I did was in those beads…. how can I allow them to think that they should credit me for it……..   OH, The FREEDOM!!!  It came to me just like that!!  I have the freedom to create what I want and not worry about what inspired me, because we all are inspired each and everyday by something!  and life is way too short for me to stress over who or what it was that inspired me…… I JUST WANT TO CREATE!! 😀

I know that there are people out there who will not agree with this.. and that is fine…   But I now know that I am not doing anything wrong….  I didn’t watch them – they didn’t show me – I just did it my way!!  So I can breath and be creative again!!  so off I go on another PC adventure!! 

Thanks for letting me vent!! 😀  Vent back if you want!!  I would love to hear what others have to say!!

~Tina T.

About tinat

I am a Polymer Clay Bead Artist. I have been beading for almost 4 years. Polymer Clay is just a wonderful art medium that there just seems to have NO end to what a person can do!
This entry was posted in polymer clay. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to pins and needles

  1. Jeanne Rhea says:

    Hi Tina,
    I think you had commented on something I wrote on this very topic. I decided to read blogs tonight and just ran across yours.

    I love everything that you have written! I can so easily see where you are coming from. Create, create, create and don’t worry what others think. As long as it comes out of your fingers, your head, and your heart, it will never be too much like someone else’s.

    What is so bad is I have been using polymer clay for more than ten years now and when I see some of the discussion, I am even stifled creatively so I know how a newbie must feel. I honestly considered giving up polymer clay at one time due to this. But when I went back through some old polymer clay work and could see that I had discovered techniques many years ago (actually my first two years of claying before I had discovered the wealth of information on the internet), I decided that it is time for clayers to realize that even in isolation, we all could discover the same end result—even if not the exact step-by-step technique.

    I just saw where someone wrote that she would never attempt to write a tutorial on a technique that someone else has already written about. I was dumbfounded. What I feel is appropriate is to say that if I do not feel that I can improve upon a technique, add something to it, I will not write a tutorial on the same technique.

    There are thousands of books on watercolors, oil painting, sculpting, how to paint a landscape, how to sculpt a fairie, how to…, and no one would dare to say, “You should not write another because someone else has done it.” I think because it is such a new medium that we in the polymer clay world often feel that we “own” a technique because we discovered it—never knowing that so many others may have discovered it before we did.

    Anyway, best of luck and so glad you wrote! Keep on claying.

  2. tinat says:

    Jeanne,

    I can not even begin to tell you how thankful I am to hear that I am not the only person in the Polymer Clay world that feels this way!! I can not agree with you more… actually I think that you said it very well! Even better that what I stated…

    I saw that on a blog this week too about writing tutorials and ‘searching’ to make sure that someone else hadn’t wrote one already! I just have to shake my head and wonder what we are doing to each other as artist! It just saddens me….. It’s like we are trapping the PC world into a neat little box that no one can step out of …. I am not a boxed in person, never have been and hope never to be

    I am so glad that you stopped in a left a note about how you felt! It’s good to know that there are other PC artist out there in my little corner too.

    Happy creating! and Yes, I will keep on Claying!!

    BTW, YOUR WORK ROCKS!!! I was at your site a while back ago and was just blown away!

    Many thanks!

    ~Tina T.

  3. KC says:

    Sounds like PC ( as in Poly clay) has become PC ( as in poitically correct).

    I am fairly new to the PC world but NOT to crafting, there is anything I havent really tried….(* Thinks, maybe one or 2* Smile*)

    As for being PC, If I try something And I am inspired by someone I will give them credit, or add their link to my sidebar.

    As a Crocheter I find patterns all the time for free, with the clause use it but dont sell it as your own. I can respect that.

    But like you I wanna create.

    Just a few moments ago I ran across someones page that had a picture of an Idea I thought I came up with.

    I wont quibble with that person and demand credit. Why Should I , Creativity comes from the heart, and it seems apparent she discovered this on her own.

    I think it is selfish to go around demanding credit for creating. ( Unless of course you are selling the pattern rights- but then thats a copyright thing)

    Know what they say… Imitation is the highest form of Flattery.

    BTW… Nice Blog. 🙂 KC

Leave a Reply

