JRB has done it again!

Jana Roberts Benzon has done it again!  I am a HUGE fan of her work… Love all the caning that she does, and she has inspired me to make some of my canes more complex…. but now….  I have to say that she has done it again!!!!  Have you checked out her front page to her website?  Her polymer clay “glass techniques” have me intrigued!  

Look at that center ‘clear’ bead with the gold and green…. HOW DID SHE DO THAT????  LOL!!!

and look at her “Lampwork” on this bead!!

 

I have tried a few times to create the “glass” look, but have to admit, I haven’t done so well.  Here was my attempt to make a “goddess” bead….

 007.jpg picture by tinamt72 005.jpg picture by tinamt72  003.jpg picture by tinamt72

Not too bad from afar, but in person, LOL!!, it’s really scary!  I didn’t have a heat gun so I had to watch that the liquid didn’t run off the sides of the bead….. I need to give it a try again!  (now I have a heat gun!!!)  I am sure that the results may be different the next time around! LOL!!

Speaking of heat guns…. did you know that with the use of Kato Polymer Clay you can get a Hand buff, or sealed look, by just taking the bead to the heat????? 

Look at the results:

008-1.jpg picture by tinamt72

See the before, and the after affect? 

all I did was take the heat gun to the bead:

011-4.jpg picture by tinamt72

swirl the bead around and around so it’s not “HOT” in one place and burns

013-2.jpg picture by tinamt72

Stop once the bead is nice and shiny!!

 016-2.jpg picture by tinamt72

just another picture of the before the heat gun and after using the heat gun…. see, nice and shiny and the colors just POP out right at you!!

Yeah, I am lazy and cheap! LOL!!  I just hate to sand and then clean, and then buff my beads… I have carpel tunnel and a touch of arthritis in my hands so holding and buffing can cause a lot of pain… but this is a pain free short cut that really works for me! :0)  and that makes for happy hands!  If you give it a try let me know if your hands thank you like mine did me!  :0)

About tinat

I am a Polymer Clay Bead Artist. I have been beading for almost 4 years. Polymer Clay is just a wonderful art medium that there just seems to have NO end to what a person can do!
This entry was posted in polymer clay. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to JRB has done it again!

  1. marcia says:

    Thanks for sharing the inspiration and the great tip about the heat gun. Appreciate it!

  2. tinat says:

    Marcia,

    No problem on the tip… just happened a crossed it the other day…

    (the PC community is pretty giving… I have had a TON of tips and suggestions handed down to me… so when I find sometime ‘new’ I feel it only right to pass it along!)

    Marcia, Your work is WOW WONDERFUL!! That Metallic Wonders bead that you have up in etsy right now is just BEAUTIFUL!! Talk about inspirational… wow!

    Thanks again for posting on my blog!

  3. jana says:

    Hey Miss Tina….

    Sheesh lady, you’re just too good to me! Seriously…thanks so much for all the nice things you said…you’ve made my day!

    About the “Kato Shine”….I wonder if what’s happening when you heat gun for shine, is the same thing that happens when Kato is baked, especially baked really hot. It kindof ‘sweats’ and leaves a shine…but, this shine washes off. If it’s scrubbed with a soft toothbrush and dish detergent after baking, that infamous “Kato Shine” will wash off.

    Do you know if yours is permanent (with the heat gun?). Would be cool if it were!!

    hugs,

    jana

  4. tinat says:

    oh Man!!! I had no clue!…. Now I need to go scrub some beads and see how they turn out….

    Thanks Jana for the info…. I really didn’t know that the shine could come off…..

    Let me go scrub some beads and I will let you know the out come!

  5. Pingback: I hate to be wrong! :o( « Tina T.’s Polymer Clay

Leave a Reply

