progress is very slow

Progress is very slow, especially when it pains the heart! 

I have wrote a few enteries about the shell that my dad found at the beach that just had to have a mermaid on it….(a big breasted mermaid at that!)  I think that he would have been happy with her! LOL!!

Well, I still am working on it… slowly.  I pick it up and look at her, and my heart just aches for him… I still just can not believe that he’s gone; just like that, gone….  I received a beautiful bracelet (a memory bracelet) that had Swarovski stones for his birthday month.  I tried to match the color of the swarovskis with the mermaid’s tail and hair….

(((SIGH))) see, it just pains my heart! LOL!!  but I am happy to report that I have made some process over the weekend.  I just sat down and decided that I need to complete her and pass her on to my dad’s wife Carrie.  She’s going to love her…. maybe not all of her, but most of her I am sure that she will be pleased with! LOL!!

Here are the before pics:

front    mermaid process

Mermaid  blog9.jpg picture by tinamt72

I really am getting excited about getting her finished…. SLOWLY!   I want to add some shading to her and a few touch-ups here and there… and find a way to attach her to the shell without breaking her and making it look too fake.  (like it really matters how fake she looks, she is fake! LOL!!)

It’s the first time I have ever made a mermaid  before (full sculpt)…..and I have to say that I really did enjoy the process of figuring things out.  I looked and stared and studied mermaids, till I was dreaming of them!   and that is not such a bad thing.

I happened to find my brother’s my space today.  On his page he has a pic of him as a little boy with a picture of my dad….

Jarrod and Dad

His smile was contagious… and so was his hissing laugh!  LOL!!  ….. 

Time…..  I know it just takes time….  Progress, it is slow, in so many ways – but you just have to put one foot in-front of the other and slowly get to where you need to be, one baby step at a time….

About tinat

I am a Polymer Clay Bead Artist. I have been beading for almost 4 years. Polymer Clay is just a wonderful art medium that there just seems to have NO end to what a person can do!
This entry was posted in polymer clay. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to progress is very slow

  1. alisa stedman says:

    Hello,
    I’ve never left a comment on any blog before, but I just wanted to let you know that I completely understand what you’re going through. Let your loved ones help you. It’s ok to be sad. Your Dad seemed like such a fun-loving man. I’m sure he would want you to continue to enjoy you life! Your art is wonderful, keep it up!

  2. tinat says:

    Alisa, thank you!!

    Thank you for taking time to leave me a possitive note, a note of encouragement, a note that brought a smile to my face… Just thank you!!

    and Thanks for the wonderful compliment!

Leave a Reply

