The Supply Station

Don’t be too shocked! I am posting again! LOL!!  Two post in less then a week…. wow!
 
this post will be non clay related, it’s more of a personal post. So, if you are wanting clay, well, I am sorry! So for today, I am just sharing some thing about the other side of me!
 
 
The Supply Station is a clothing pantry that a very dear friend of mine started…. she use to do this from her home, but has grown so much that she has out grown her home.  She takes donated clothing in excellent condition and passes it out to those in need….  She asked another sweet gal to join in her efforts, and they together came across a building to use…. and a few months later, I joined in the fun. 
 
Yesterday was the grand reopening of The Supply Station!  (we close during the 4 ‘bad’ months of winter, we have no heat!)  It was a HUGE success!!  The place was packed full of people!  It was a Mad House, but in the most wonderful way!  We moved so much clothing it was surreal….. and listing to them say to one another, “Oh, look at this, isn’t this so cute!”, well, that just has to put a smile on your face.  You just walk away with a warm place in your heart… knowing that in some little way, you helped make things easier for them.
 
 
I feel that being able to give, well, it has to be one of the most important keys to life…..  I can not even begin to tell you how much this “Store” has changed my life.  Something so small turned into something so big….  God has truly Blessed this mission.  We are do not make any money, everything is given, donated or volunteered and yet we still succeed far beyond our dreams…. It is so hard to wrap your mind around how far this little ‘store’ has come…. and to see it today, and to witness the changes it’s made…. well, it is life altering.  God has truly Blessed my friends, and in turn they have Blessed me.
 
Last night, we serviced over 60 children in 3 hours of time….  can you imagine… 60 kids walked way with 3 bags of clothing each… they received diapers, shoes, socks, undies, and clothes to wear… and some walked a way with a few toys…. how can you not feel good about that? 
 
3 years ago, my life was very different…..  so many changes have accrued in my life, those changes have changed me to the very core of who I was to who I am now…..  I know now, that life is too short.  Tomorrow sometimes never comes.  I have a duty to live a life that is inspiring to my children.  I have a duty to show them how to live their lives to the fullest with the best intentions of doing good for others…. this world is a self serve world… people only do things that will benefit themselves…. I want my children to put that greed away and to seek within them and know that they have a duty to help others, in what ever way they can, they need to do their part.  So, I hope that I am not only helping others, I hope that I am helping my children, and I hope that in the process, I keep changing myself to become a better me……
About tinat

I am a Polymer Clay Bead Artist. I have been beading for almost 4 years. Polymer Clay is just a wonderful art medium that there just seems to have NO end to what a person can do!
This entry was posted in me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Supply Station

  1. Elaine says:

    How fabulous! What a super way of helping and an excellent object lesson in service for your children. I wish your Supply Station continued success.

  2. tinat says:

    Thank you so much Elaine!! I too hope that we are able to continue to fill this need!

    HUGS!!

  3. Cindy Lietz says:

    It takes a special person to do what we all in our hearts know we should do. Not only are you an inspiration for your children, but an inspiration for us all!

  4. tinat says:

    Cindy,

    Thank you!! What a wonderful thing to say…. It’s not always easy to do things that we know that we should… and this is one of those things that once we started, well, there is just no turning back.
    This past Tuesday we serviced over 40 children…… it just lets us know time and time again that this is a mission that is very needed in our area.
    Listening to the stories they have, well, it touches you to the very core, and what they give is is far greater then what they recieve……. I know that I am forever changed each week, and each week my heart is opened in a new way…..

    Thank you again for your comments!

Leave a Reply

