A Beautiful Yellow Rock

I was one of those crazy kids that LOVED to collect Rocks… all kinds, shapes, sizes, ugly, pretty, sparkles, or not… I was just fascinated by them.  But that is as far as I ever went with my knowledge about Rocks.

Well, thankfully my yard is full of all sorts of Rocks.  The previous owners must have had the same fasination with them.  For around the house there are lots of BIG and BEAUTIFUL rocks.   One Rock just has me stumped.   At first glance I thought that it was glass.  It is sharp like glass could be, and it weighs a ton….

Here are a few pictures of the Rock:  Beautiful Yellow, Glass like Rock that can hold a rainbow within

Yellow Rock? by you.

 

Yellow Rock- do you know what kind? by you.

 

So those of you who love Rocks and that can help me out and let me know what it is, Please leave a comment, or shout me an email!

Many Thanks!

About tinat

I am a Polymer Clay Bead Artist. I have been beading for almost 4 years. Polymer Clay is just a wonderful art medium that there just seems to have NO end to what a person can do!
This entry was posted in polymer clay. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Beautiful Yellow Rock

  1. Amelia says:

    Sometimes citrine does this. I have a smaller sized rock that does that too. Isn’t it gorgeous?

  2. Chris says:

    It’s beautiful! My guess is that it’s some type of quartz. My mom has a similar “rock” that’s blue.

  3. Tonya says:

    I think this is an Oregon Sun Stone, it comes in many different colors.www.crystalage.com/…/stone_type/sunstone.cfm

  4. Tonya says:

    I believe this is an Oregon Sun Stone, it comes in many different colors. Here is a link for you.www.crystalage.com/…/stone_type/sunstone.cfm

  5. Alex says:

    It could also be slag glass, used to manufacture vases, lamps, etc. Look up Fenton slag glass; I also just saw a Murano vase on eBay made of rainbow type glass, not quite the same as yours. Good slag glass is collectible / useful to jewelers, just as quality rocks are.

Leave a Reply

